SCRATCHPAD: 2024-07-22 Mo: Trump Should Quit too, & Republicans Should Be Urging Him to Do So; & Biden Today Significantly Better Cognitively than Reagan-84; & MOAR...

A scratchpad…

Subscribe now


Share


Neofascism: If Trump actually cared about anything other than Trump, he would follow Joe Biden’s example, reject the nomination, and endorse his vice-presidential candidate J.D. Vance. And if Professional Republicans actually cared about anything other than their personal career advantage, all of them would be out there, inside and outside, telling Trump plus all and sundry that this would be a good thing for Republican policy causes and for the party for Trump to do. But nobody imagines that any of them are going to do any of that, do they?

Nikki Haley: ‘The first party to retire its 80-year-old candidate is going to be the one who wins this election…


May America Stay America: What I am hearing is that Biden is, cognitively, much better off than Trump is, and significantly better off than Reagan was in 1984 when he ran for his second term. But I am also hearing that the decline is real, and that people guess he will be at Reagan-84 levels in a year or two, long before the end of what would have been his second term:

Kamala Harris: ‘On behalf of the American people, I thank Joe Biden for his extraordinary leadership as President of the United States and for his decades of service to our country. I am honored to have the President’s endorsement and my intention is to earn and win this nomination. I will do everything in my power to unite the Democratic Party—and unite our nation—to defeat Donald Trump and his extreme Project 2025 agenda…. Donald Trump said he was going to stand up to Big Pharma and lower the cost of prescription drugs—instead, he bowed down. President Joe Biden and I took on Big Pharma and have capped the cost of insulin for seniors at $35 a month. The contrast is clear… <https://x.com/kamalaharris?lang=en>


Neofascism: it was not that Professional Republicans “did not want Trump to win the nomination but failed to mobilize”, it was that Professional Republicans did not want Trump to become president again in 2025. But the overwhelming majority of Professional Republicans thought Trump would be the strongest candidate to win the presidency in 2024, and had coattails:

Dan Drezner: Joe Goes: ‘A lot of powerful Democrats urged Biden to exit…. Democrats who had actually won elections in the past and had skin in the game for 2024. The contrast with a Republican Party that didn’t want Trump to win the nomination but failed to mobilize in any useful way is constructive…. Biden and his loyal supporters started to sound way too much like Trump supporters did back during the days of the Toddler-in-Chief thread…. I did not like seeing these themes emerge as Biden tried to defend himself… <danieldrezner.substack.com/p/joe-goes>


CryptoGrifts: I just made a vanilla twitter account—said my interests were business, science, and technology, following nobody. Here is what it shows me:

Shay Boloor: In the current phase of the AI-driven Intelligence Revolution – I see the greatest growth potential in $TSLA & $PLTR. While $CRWD & $SNOW are currently my largest holdings – I plan to gradually reallocate during Q3 to position Tesla & Palantir as my top positions.

AltCoin Daily IO: Can The US Government Destroy x.com/StockSavvyShay?

Jesus Martinez: $MIGGLES Is Going To $1 Billion The Unofficial Coinbase Cat I aped in like $20K x.com/0xJesusMartinez

Leading Report: BREAKING: Sen. Ron Johnson says he has “seen evidence that there may have been two sh**ters” during Trump’s assassination attempt. “We can’t trust the FBI and Secret Service to do an honest and open investigation.”

Amit Is Investing: TRUMP JUST NOW ON ELON MUSK AND TESLA: - Confirms that Elon is giving him $45M per month but notes that Elon never brings up the topic of political donations in their phone calls (he says other people give him $2 and he has to wine and dine them, lol) - Says he is NOT

Amit Is Investing: If you want to know how insane Twitter is: Elon retweeted me once and in my DMs, I got called a n*gger by a neo-nazi and coon by a black Leftist hours apart.

NSF Voyager 2: I am currently 18h 53m 45s of light travel time from Earth (2024:203:000000:2L)

Sensei BR BTC: BREAKING China is about to unban x.com/amitisinvesting ! BULLISH

Fluent in Finance: Most meetings are a waste of time. But there’s an easy fix. A leaked email from Elon Musk revealed his 6 tips for productivity.

Jeff Eisenband: When you see someone choose another investment bank over Morgan Stanley

The Skin Doctor 13: RBI governor has warned that since people are increasingly investing in mutual funds over traditional FDs, it could create serious liquidity problems for the banks. If Nirmala ji takes this concern seriously and decides to act to make people switch back to FDs, what would she…

Elira Pendora: good morning to everyone especially Chiitan IKE’S 3D SOON!!!!!!!! YIPPEE

Misterr Crypto: It’s approval week for the Spot x.com/FluentInFinance ETF. Get ready

The Dog: The most viral and viewed threads on Twitter about the CrowdStrike incident are all conspiracy nonsense. This one is fucking incredible.

Rover CRC: My next target for x.com/FluentInFinance is $89,000

BitCoin Magazine: JUST IN: The world’s largest x.com/FluentInFinance  conference is only FOUR days away

Misterr Crypto: x.com/misterrcrypto consolidation is not bad. It’s part of the process.

Tulsi Soni: Passive income is one of the best ways to build wealth. ChatGPT allows anyone to start building passive income fast. Here are 16 simple proven methods to start earning $10,000/mo with AI

Shah H: some dev rugged a memecoin to get height lengthening surgery these were his final words

Cynical Publius: I’m seeing a lot of fretting and worrying from certain conservative quarters (like Sundance at the Conservative Treehouse) that JD Vance is some sort of Deep State plant because he went to Yale Law School and was a venture capitalist. I want to share some personal experiences

& I had to expand this one to see:

that may allay your fears.

If you listened to my appearance on Ron Coleman’s podcast last week, you know I finally revealed some things about myself that I have thus far been keeping purposely vague—those things give me, I think, a little bit of insight into where JD’s head may be at. I’m a lot older than JD, and I came from a solidly middle class family with two wonderful parents, but some of my experiences mirror his. The day I retired from the Army, I started law school full time. I did not go to Yale, but I went to another of what the legal community calls an elite “Top 14” law school. I then went to work at an “AmLaw 25” law firm, where I worked closely as a corporate law attorney with leading venture capitalists and some of the huge Silicon Valley companies that drive our economy. (Needless to say, 90% of my colleagues and clients were rabid Democrats who assumed that everyone they met, including me, naturally believed what they believed.)

When you go into something truly privileged like this and it’s not where you are born and raised from, you go into it with kind of a starry-eyed expectation that you are putting on Cinderella’s slipper. You are not. You rapidly learn that so, so many of the people who surround you may have high IQs, but their privileged backgrounds and inoculation from the everyday lives of most Americans leave them hopelessly vapid, vain and clueless, and full of ideas that do nothing to help anyone but themselves and people just like them. They often have the racial bigotry of low expectations, and their intellect, training, power and wealth are wielded in a way that is most harmful to our nation.

That’s not to say I have not met many great people and had wonderful, amazing partners along the way (I have)—but taken as a whole that community is essentially a cabal of highly intelligent and wealthy idiots, and they cause massive harm to our nation. I see this now quite clearly, and being part of them never changed me. Instead, it put me on the inside of their cabal and taught me how it works and how to effectively fight it. Sometimes I feel like a double agent, leveraging what I know to work against the horrific vision they have for America—a vision where their wealth and knowledge qualifies them (they think) to tell the rest of us how to live our best lives.

I’m pretty sure JD Vance is the same way. He was inside the “elites” but never became one, and with the knowledge he has he can now effectively combat them.

I could be wrong but I’m pretty sure JD is solid. As a legal colleague of mine who also went into the law after retiring from the Army once told me: “These are some nice people. But they never slept in the dirt.” You don’t forget sleeping in the dirt, and I doubt JD Vance has forgotten it.