READING: Jo Walton (1998): "The Lurkers Support Me in Email"

Perhaps the best poem written about the early internet. The main implicit point still holds true today…

Subscribe now


Give a gift subscription

The Lurkers Support Me in Email

by Jo Walton

To the tune of “My Bonny Lies Over the Ocean”.

The lurkers support me in email They all think I’m great don’t you know. You posters just don’t understand me But soon you will reap what you sow.

Lurkers, lurkers, lurkers support me, you’ll see, you’ll see off in e-mail the lurkers support me, you’ll see.

Oh it’s true, and you know they support me. There’s thousands of lurkers out there! They all understand my intentions you posters are not being fair!

Lurkers, lurkers, lurkers support me, you’ll see, you’ll see off in e-mail the lurkers support me, you’ll see

The lurkers support me in email “So why don’t they post?” you all cry They’re scared of your hostile intentions they’re not as courageous as I.

Lurkers, lurkers, lurkers support me, you’ll see, you’ll see off in e-mail the lurkers support me, you’ll see

One day I’ll round up all my lurkers we’ll have a newsgroup of our own without all this flak from you morons my lurkers will post round my throne.

Lurkers, lurkers, lurkers support me, you’ll see, you’ll see off in e-mail the lurkers support me, you’ll see.

Share


Walton, Jo. 1998. “The Lurkers Support Me in Email”. May 16. <http://www.jowaltonbooks.com/poetry/whimsy/the-lurkers-support-me-in-email/>.

Share Brad DeLong’s Grasping Reality

Leave a comment

Subscribe now