HOISTED FROM THE ARCHIVES: DeLong: "The Economist as...?: The Public Square & Economics"

In which I defend economists against Alasdair MacIntyre, for we are the quintessential expression of his bête noire the manager; yet I think a John Maynard Keynes is vastly to be preferred to either a Leon Trotsky or a St. Benedict…

Subscribe now


Time to hoist this from the archives!:

2016 11 15 Delong The Economist As
1.21MB ∙ PDF file
Download
Download

Share Brad DeLong’s Grasping Reality


Why is it time to hoist this? First, as a follow-up to my taking exception to Matthew Yglesias’s saying that the purpose of humanities departments, insofar as their undergraduate-education mission in American universities is concerned, should be to teach at least semi-triumphalist versions of: Hum 1 “Classics of Western Literature”; and Soc Sci 2 “Western Thought and Institutions:

Slow Boring
Thankful mailbag
Happy Black Friday! I hope you find discounts that bring joy to your life and help reduce the rate of inflation. But if you’re trying to get your holiday shopping done early, there’s really no better gift than the gift of content. It’s a busy week with lots of travel, so I’m going to keep this intro short and sweet. Onward to the questions…
Read more

Leave a comment

And, second, because Henry Farrell on BlueSky crosses into my feed with a reference to a very interesting interview of Notre Dame philosopher Alasdair MacIntyre from 1991 <https://macintyrestudies.files.wordpress.com/2015/07/an-interview-with-macintyre.pdf>. And I feel like I should hoist my defense of economists against MacIntyre…

Now I should start by highlighting what Henry Farrell says, because it is 100% correct:

Agree or disagree with Macintyre, he has wonderful taste in literature (and I’d be fascinated to read him at length on Philip K. Dick)…. It’s the kind [of reading list] that makes you want to invite yourself to dinner at someone’s house so you can talk to them. Clearly, he’s not only Catholic but catholic… <https://bsky.app/profile/himself.bsky.social/post/3kkguzsexas2r>

Refer a friend

What is the reading list? This, as his list of non-philosophical works:

Leav[ing] out the clearly borderline cases… [of] Dante, Jane Austen, Dostoievski, Kafka and Borges…. Books that I have read every twenty years or so: Redgauntlet, Women in Love, To the Lighthouse, among books that I have read more often: Ulysses, Finnegan’s Wake, Flann O’Brien’s At Swim-Tao-Birds, short stories by Flannery O’Connor, Peter Taylor and Mairtin O’Cadhain; among books without which I might well not have lasted out the last twenty years: Saichi Maruya’s Singular Rebellion, Randal Jarrell’s Pictures from an Institution, Robertson Davies’s Rebel Angels, Patrick McGinley’s Bogmail; among what I hope still be be reading twenty 73 years from now: The Táin Bó Cúailnge, Eileen O’Connell’s lament for Art O’Leary, Akhmatova’s ‘Poem without a Hero’, the poetry of George Campbell Hay, Sorley MacLean, lain Crichton Smith and Mairtin O’Direain; and of course a perpetual low-life diet of Raymond Chandler, Philip K. Dick, etc, etc, although perhaps reading them is still reading philosophy…

Give a gift subscription

I do wish I were drinking a tenth as deeply from the Pierian Spring as MacIntyre does.

Get 33% off a group subscription


But then there are the other things in MacIntyre’s post-After Virtue writings that lead me to immediately think: BRAINWORMS! For he takes adoration of Hum 1 and Soc Sci 2 to the absolute max—to infinity, and beyond!:

Read more