Utopia or Bust?, & BRIEFLY NOTED: For 2023-02-03 Fr

<<braddelong.substack.com/p/utopia-…>>

Project Syndicate column, finally using this microprocessor, Joshua Rothman on the Upper-Lower South slave trade, Krugman, Wolf, Duy, Rogoff, Brainard, Pueyo, Baldwin, Karpf, Harrison, Harrison…

Brad DeLong Utopia or Bust: The grand narrative of the long century between 1870 and 2010 was about technological triumph, coupled with social-organizational failure. Now, the politics of economic governance has gotten even messier, opening up the possibility that we will end up with the worst of all possible worlds.

BERKELEY – My book on the economic history of the twentieth century, published last fall, did not include a chapter on the question of the future or “what we should do next,” because my frequent co-author, Stephen S. Cohen, convinced me that whatever I wrote would come to look outdated and silly within six months. He was right: such arguments are better left to commentaries like this one. So, if I had written a final chapter looking to the future, what should I have said?..